digital manometer - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-17-2012, 02:33 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
digital manometer

Has anyone used something like this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Digital-Mano...item35aeb24f2a

I am interested in knowing if this would be useful for synchronizing the carbs on the VN750 as well as a few other uses I have in mind for this.
I do not know what vaccum range I would need to read for the carbs, so maybe someone here can tell me if this is useful.

The listing shows specs:
The device measures Gauge/Differential Pressure from -55H2O to +55H2O(+2 psi).It features 11 selectable units of measure:
inH2O,psi,bar,mbar,Kpa,InHg,mmHg,ozin2,FtH2O,cmH2O ,kgcm,Additional features include Data Hold and Auto Power off disabled.Careful use of this meter will provide years of reliable service.
kc2dgq is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-17-2012, 04:16 PM
HAWK
 
Ccspinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 2,576
iTrader: (9)
 
Send a message via Yahoo to Ccspinner
Sure you could use one like that but you can make one with clear hose and a yard stick.
there is a diagram on here somewhere.

Chad Falstad "Hawk"
Vroc #17649
2011 HD Ultra Classic "angel"
2001 Nomad 1500 Sold March 2012
2001 VN 750 "Sold June with 2008 with 21,000""Serinity"
Ccspinner is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-17-2012, 04:26 PM
BTD
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 47
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ccspinner View Post
Sure you could use one like that but you can make one with clear hose and a yard stick.
there is a diagram on here somewhere.
Have you ever tried using those though? Sure its doable, but it sure is a pain!! I did it on a four cylinder, so I'm sure a twin isn't quite as bad but still!

Be ready to shut the engine down because the slightest difference in vaccum and you will be sucking oil into one of your cylinders faster than you can adjust the carbs
BTD is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-17-2012, 04:33 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
denny6006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: InezKY pop.600
Posts: 5,236
iTrader: (9)
     
Garage
two vacuum gauges work well also and swap em after you finish and see if the both read the same,to be sure.Or test them both on the same vacuum source and adjust accordingly.




If you see it on my bike I did it
VROC#30324
92 vn750(sold)
Current ride 05 1500 Classic FI
lovin' the new scoot



Quote:
"When all is said and done,usually more is said than done" UNK
Click on one x and drag to the other to read between them.

Psalm 40:1...
XI waited patiently for the Lord; and he turned unto me, and heard my cry. X
denny6006 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-17-2012, 09:57 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,626
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
Well, to actually answer your question, I am guessing the two tubes sticking out at the top mean you can compare two diffrent vacuum lines at the same time.... So yes, it should work for syncing the carbs on he 750.


Not sure what else you plan to use it for, but it can tell you how much something sucks.......

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-18-2012, 07:42 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
kc2dgq's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,350
iTrader: (13)
 
Garage
This little unit is certainly inexpensive enough to give it a shot. It does in fact give you the "differential" pressure between the 2 input ports, so the goal would be to adjust the carbs so the diff. press. (in this case, vacuum) is reading zero.

As for what else I can use it for....avionics gauges for one....pressure output for small pumps and other things I like to "tinker" with.

Does anyone know about how much "vacuum" pressure these carbs develop? I just want to make sure the meter is able to cover the range of vacuum for each port.
I am thinking somewhere around 12-15 InHg ??
kc2dgq is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome