need help with stalling engine - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-19-2011, 09:39 AM Thread Starter

Garage
Question need help with stalling engine

I have an 06 VN750 which is mostly stock other than a windshield and saddle bags. I have an issue that I can't seem to grasp.

When the bike is started cold and is warmed up just enough to run without the choke, It idles at about 1100rpm. There is no smoke or smell from the exhaust and all seems just fine. What happens is odd to me. I will hear the cylinders cycling fine, yet randomly it happens...I hear a clunk and the bike just stops dead. I can re-start it without any problems, but it sometimes does this and other times it is just fine. It only happens when cold started. Once the bike is warmed up and ridden, I don't experience it at all.

Keep in mind that I am no mechanic, but it sounds to me like a timing issue where one cylinder is fighting the other and stops the engine rotation dead in it's tracks. Maybe a cam tension-er issue??

I checked for loose hoses or clogged air cleaner. I pulled the plugs and they are fine...no signs of pre-ignition or fouling at all. I do get the occasional backfire after stalls (goats belly still in tact, and not marbled) which is inherent for these bikes. The only mod I really did was the pickup coil gap which is now set to .020" rather than factory setting of .035". This was done recently hoping it would fix this issue as a stab in the dark. It did help with hot starts, so I am glad I did it.

Still stumped on this one and so is my mechanic apparently. Has anyone else heard of this type of symptom?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 42 (permalink) Old 10-19-2011, 10:41 AM

Does the "clunk" happen after you put it in gear and try to take off or is it without touching the bike?