Need some educated advice on a VN750 Purchase - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-18-2011, 02:40 AM Thread Starter

Need some educated advice on a VN750 Purchase

Hopefully eveyrone can help me reach a decision.
So..Im in the process of buying a 2003 Vulcan 750 with approximately 24k miles on it. I want to get this bike primarily as a starter bike and trade it in towards a new bike in 6months to a year. The price seems right and the resale potential seems high. The dealer was asking 2475 for it which I found out is NADA books high retail value. Low retail is about 1850. We negotiated and came to 2300 out the door. I was hoping to pay 2000 but 2300 still seems very reasonable. My only concern is reselling it. I plan on using it as a daily driver and am expecting to keep it under 30k by trade in time. So the miles are concern and the only other visible problem is a crease/dent in the gas tank. Other thank that the bike looks good ..no rust..normal wear..tires look good ..runs great..Just wondering if this is a good deal and whether or not I could get 2000 out of it at resale/trade in time? If 2300 isnt a fair price what would be?
Thanks for your help!
Also I read something about some problem with the shaft drive on these vulcans and read to make sure the shaft is lubed or something. Dealer said this was done in servicing. Any light on what this problem is exactly and how to know if this bike has that problem?
Sorry about the lengthy first post. Im getting cold feet about this big purchase.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-18-2011, 06:28 AM

Garage
This time of the year, you should be able to talk him down more than that. Look around some more, keep your eye on craiglist and cycletrader.com too. With the riding season coming near an end for most of us up North, I would think you should see more bikes for sale.