oil pressure switch - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-15-2011, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Traverse City, Mi.
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
 
oil pressure switch

Haven't seen anything on this but, I am guessing there is power to the pressure switch anytime the ignition switch is on. When the engine is running the oil pressure breaks the circuit and the light goes off. I have oil pressure, before I change pressure switch, I changed oil about 150 mi ago used fram oil filter. I just read a post by Old Dog he mentioned Fram oil filters, but didn't elaborate, what can anybody tell me. Thanks
solidsuface is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-15-2011, 06:19 PM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,637
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
From what I have read....Fram filters should be avoided. Not saying it won't work... But they got a bad rep.

Now.... Are you saying your oil light has not gone off? Not sure what you mean by "oil switch"

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is online now  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-15-2011, 07:42 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knifemaker View Post
Now.... Are you saying your oil light has not gone off? Not sure what you mean by "oil switch"
I'm assuming he means the sending unit that's hooked into the oil line. But if he changed the oil 150 miles ago, that light wouldn't still be on...or maybe it would, but the engine wouldn't be running! Solidsurface, did your light *just* come on?

C
Crobins365 is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-15-2011, 10:57 PM
Junior Member
 
RJ Schmidt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tarpon Springs, Florida
Posts: 5
iTrader: (0)
 
On my 750 the oil warning light is grounded through the oil sending unit. So on start up if there is oil pressure at the sending unit it will turn the switch off which breakes the ground and shuts the light off.

I had an issue after changing the oil once, the light didnt go out. It was fine before the oil change so I felt sure it was somethng simple but didnt run the moter. I called the local dealer and he told me to losten up the filter and let a little oil out then tighten it back up and try it again. I did exactelly as he said and to my amazement the light went out.

He said what happened was the filter had an air lock or as he called it a bubble in it. Just loosening up the filter broke the air lock and things were fine.

I used a Mobil oil filter for that change. He did say for some reason certain filters are more prone to the problem than others, he didnt mention any by name.

Since that happened I have been using OEM filters and never had a problem since.

RJ
RJ Schmidt is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 06:15 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Great! Not sure which filters are more prone to doing that, but that would definitely be the advice we'd have offered here. Glad your baby is up and running without problems!

C
Crobins365 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 10:15 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Traverse City, Mi.
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
 
Guess I did leave a few voids in the post! No the light just came on, and the reason I used pressure switch is because that is what Clymer's calls it. It was always sending unit in my book as I get older names and terminology change I just assumed this was one of those changes.
solidsuface is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 01:05 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Traverse City, Mi.
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knifemaker View Post
From what I have read....Fram filters should be avoided. Not saying it won't work... But they got a bad rep.

Now.... Are you saying your oil light has not gone off? Not sure what you mean by "oil switch"

The oil light came on just the other day. I used oil pressure switch because that is the term Clymer's uses, I have always called it a sending unit .

I believe I have oil pressure because when I shut the engine down it took a few minutes for the oil to drain back down to the lower part of the engine case.
solidsuface is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Traverse City, Mi.
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crobins365 View Post
I'm assuming he means the sending unit that's hooked into the oil line. But if he changed the oil 150 miles ago, that light wouldn't still be on...or maybe it would, but the engine wouldn't be running! Solidsurface, did your light *just* come on?
Yes the light just came on!
solidsuface is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 01:15 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Traverse City, Mi.
Posts: 43
iTrader: (0)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJ Schmidt View Post
On my 750 the oil warning light is grounded through the oil sending unit. So on start up if there is oil pressure at the sending unit it will turn the switch off which breakes the ground and shuts the light off.

I had an issue after changing the oil once, the light didnt go out. It was fine before the oil change so I felt sure it was somethng simple but didnt run the moter. I called the local dealer and he told me to losten up the filter and let a little oil out then tighten it back up and try it again. I did exactelly as he said and to my amazement the light went out.

He said what happened was the filter had an air lock or as he called it a bubble in it. Just loosening up the filter broke the air lock and things were fine.

I used a Mobil oil filter for that change. He did say for some reason certain filters are more prone to the problem than others, he didnt mention any by name.

Since that happened I have been using OEM filters and never had a problem since.

RJ
So is the wire between light and sending unit hot or ground?
solidsuface is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 09-16-2011, 02:46 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
Crobins365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kennett Square, PA
Posts: 3,505
iTrader: (48)
     
Should be hot; the unit grounds itself to the engine block, I think.

C
Crobins365 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome