750 maintenance intensive? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-26-2011, 06:56 PM Thread Starter

750 maintenance intensive?

I've been riding for several years. My current bikes are DR650 and GL1200. I used to ride the DR HARD, and did a lot of maintenance as a result. Part of the game. Then came full time job and family. No I don't have a ton of free time, so I'd rather ride than wrench. I want to trade out of my '84 GL (naked model) because it's hitting the age where parts are starting to wear out, and I don't feel like spending a ton of time fixing it.

The 750 sounds like an awesome bike and I'm very interested. However, it sounds like it's got a couple of common gripes that I'm not crazy about. The splines, which aren't that big of a deal, and shouldn't need done too often, and the charging system. If you're familiar w/ 4 cylinder Gold Wings, you probably know about their charging system. I ended up doing an alternator conversion after fighting mine.

I've done it, and CAN do it, I just don't want to. Would I be better off going with one of the more current designs? I've actually got an appointment to see one with a private seller tonight, but I'm not making a buy tonight, it would have to wait.

What says the fine members here?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-26-2011, 07:28 PM
Chucklehead

Mine hasn't been too bad save repairing things the PO had done (or not done) and mods. Has rarely left me stranded and in my care hasn't had the best keeper, I don't get to put it inside the garage anymore even in winter. Occasional oil changes and watch for loose things and ride. Get the bike, check the splines, install a voltmeter, and enjoy!

87 vn750at least that is what the frame #'s say
"Squirrel Bike" aka Jersey

Rat bike with a good PR agent

shaved and coastered
2 into 1 exhaust
rear 170 and front 110
Relocated R/R