Vibration/Rattle from my gauges? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2011, 12:55 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Londonderry, NH
Posts: 152
iTrader: (0)
 
Vibration/Rattle from my gauges?

I have a rattle vibration noise coming from the front of my bike. Just around 3,400 RPM it's not loud, just anoying. I think it's coming from the tachometer and spedo. I can't seem to find anything loose. If I put my hand on the tach I can feel the vibration and the noise quiets down some, but not all the way. Any thought on what else it could?

Glenn Douglas
Londonderry, NH
GDouglas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2011, 03:03 PM
If only it had 6th gear..
 
DavesVulster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (1)
 
I havlolhe same issue. Creates a humming. Mine is definitely the speedo. If I grab it, it stops, and I am planning on taking a look at it in the next day ir two. Both gauges sit on rubber dampers that are supposed to...uh... keep this from happening, ha ha. I don't think we want to trash them though cause it may damage the gauges after a while. Hopefully someone will share their fix... probably to remove them and go bobber style, lol. I'll update if I can fix this annoying little bug.
DavesVulster is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2011, 05:20 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
JM2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 1,803
iTrader: (1)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavesVulster View Post
I havlolhe same issue. Creates a humming. Mine is definitely the speedo. If I grab it, it stops, and I am planning on taking a look at it in the next day ir two. Both gauges sit on rubber dampers that are supposed to...uh... keep this from happening, ha ha. I don't think we want to trash them though cause it may damage the gauges after a while. Hopefully someone will share their fix... probably to remove them and go bobber style, lol. I'll update if I can fix this annoying little bug.
Get a piece 3/8 clear hose. Cut it about 2-3 inches long. Slice 1 side down the middle. This will fit over one side of the mounting bracket and into the hole in the gauge. No more vibration.

JM2001

" Loud Pipes Risk Rights "

2001 Vulcan 750
marbled
TOC upgrade on ACCT
Air/fuel mixture set to 2 1/2 out
rectifier relocated
splines lubed
iridiums
decals removed
upgraded mirrors
Pic up coil mod done
degoated
All LED lighting
Upgraded Mosfet rectifier

Last edited by JM2001; 08-11-2011 at 08:49 PM.
JM2001 is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2011, 05:36 PM
If only it had 6th gear..
 
DavesVulster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (1)
 
Thanks JM, Sounds like a good fix. Ill be doing that this weekend.

(Havlolhe?? What the hell kinda typo is that? Starting my own language)
DavesVulster is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2011, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Freedom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 83
iTrader: (0)
 
Looks like you started laughing in the middle of typing.

Bike is sold, thanks for the help guys. Ride safe.
Freedom is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2011, 07:18 PM
If only it had 6th gear..
 
DavesVulster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (1)
 
JM, the hole in the gauge... I don't thonk I'm following. Do you meanvthe screw hole onvyhr gauge or is there a pilot hole. I'm sure it eill make sense when I do it, just been a long day...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freedom View Post
Looks like you started laughing in the middle of typing.
Yeah, or the phone did, ha ha. Auto text is going to eat all the humans brains one day. At least it didn't put in something dirty like some on damnyouautocorrect.com
DavesVulster is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2011, 08:29 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
JM2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 1,803
iTrader: (1)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavesVulster View Post
JM, the hole in the gauge... I don't thonk I'm following. Do you meanvthe screw hole onvyhr gauge or is there a pilot hole. I'm sure it eill make sense when I do it, just been a long day...



Yeah, or the phone did, ha ha. Auto text is going to eat all the humans brains one day. At least it didn't put in something dirty like some on damnyouautocorrect.com
Dave, Poor choice of wording on my part. On the left side of the tach housing and on the right side of the speedo housing there is a rounded slot that the support bracket goes thru to hold the gauge. The tubing goes over one side of the bracket and into the slot. Make the tubing long enough so it is a tight fit which puts upward pressure on the gauge, acts as a damper, and stops the vibration.
Jim

JM2001

" Loud Pipes Risk Rights "

2001 Vulcan 750
marbled
TOC upgrade on ACCT
Air/fuel mixture set to 2 1/2 out
rectifier relocated
splines lubed
iridiums
decals removed
upgraded mirrors
Pic up coil mod done
degoated
All LED lighting
Upgraded Mosfet rectifier

Last edited by JM2001; 08-11-2011 at 08:48 PM.
JM2001 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2011, 09:30 PM
If only it had 6th gear..
 
DavesVulster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (1)
 
Ahhh, now I'm with ya. Thank you Jim!
DavesVulster is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2011, 09:32 PM
If only it had 6th gear..
 
DavesVulster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (1)
 
My God I've got to slow down with this phone's keyboard. People are gonna think I'm texting while riding. :/
DavesVulster is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-11-2011, 10:23 PM
If only it had 6th gear..
 
DavesVulster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North of Boston
Posts: 1,100
iTrader: (1)
 
Thanks guys. I'll pick up some tube tomorrow .
DavesVulster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome