Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

How long after cold start can you ride?

2K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  vulcanpower 
#1 ·
I've got the bike to the point now that I can cold start it very quickly. The RPMs start to rise pretty soon after starting and the engine seems to run well. However, adding any throttle before the engine is really good and warm causes the bike to want to stall. Its as if the enriching the choke produces is only affected at idle. Once the bike is warm (several minutes of idling) then it runs well. Is this the "cold blooded" behavior everyone talks about or do I still have some carb issue?

-Robert

#3 ·
While a common problem, this is not normal. Try adding Seafoam to your tank and/or your carb and let it sit for a day before stripping the carbs completely. It's a real job the first time you attempt it and I recommend trying just about anything before you take it on. I'm no expert, but it sounds like your jets might be clogged.

#6 ·
That's how I got to the point I'm at now. The bike had been sitting with California gas in it when I bought it so the carbs were full of gum. They're all cleaned out now and the bike is now running well, other than this odd cold running behavior. In mild weather (say 60F) it takes about 5+ minutes before I can get more than about 3,000 RPM without it wanting to stall. Now, I also have a problem with the thermostat sticking (I've got it on backorder) so perhaps that's what's causing this (just though of that).

Do you typically see movement on the temp gauge before you try to ride?

-Robert

#4 ·
I never take off until the bike idles well without the choke. Seafoam always a good thing, but your bike may just be running lean.

Have you adjusted the fuel/air screws on the carbs? That might help.

How cold is it when you say "cold"?

You should not ride the bike with the choke on, and yes, it more or less only effects your lower throttle speeds.