how to fix a loose tach/speed??? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 02:21 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
scuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: manitowoc wisconsin
Posts: 555
iTrader: (12)
 
how to fix a loose tach/speed???

I have searched older posts and havent found any information on how to tighten the tach. On the back of the tach the screw is in all the way and tight. But that thing wobbles like crazy. any easy fixes???

www.vulcanriders.us scuba
vn750.com scuba
vulcanforum.com scuba54220
vroc.org VROC # 32658 (scuba)
1984 kz750 ltd
1982 yamaha maxim 750
2002 nomad trike
1978 suzuki 250
1964 harley amf
1987 yamaha venture 1300
1984 honda silverwing
custom exhaust
custom mirrors
custom grips
custom floorboards
ride-on tire sealant
corbin seat and backrest
custom exhaust
willie & max saddle bags
scuba is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 07:23 AM
Patriot Guard Rider
 
The DEUCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 825
iTrader: (20)
 
My tach does the same thing. I just haven't made the time to pull it apart and figure out how to tighten it down.

1986 Black Kawasaki Vulcan VN750 "Black KAWK"
VN750 #9300 & VROC #33453

EMGO Handlebar, V&H Exhaust, Drop Shocks, Raised/Painted Fork, MeanStreak Seat, Tank Bib, ME880 Oversize Tires, Engine Guard, Custom Mirrors, Chris Products Turn Signals, Ear Shave, 150/42 Jets, PINGEL Fuel Valve, MCCT, Volt Meter, Shendegen R/R, AGM Battery, Coastered, .020 Coils, Relo Gauges & Headlamp, SilverStar Ultra, LED Flashing Brake Light, Center Stand Delete, WOLO Airhorn.
The DEUCE is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 07:52 AM
Sparky!!!
 
slimvulcanrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,695
iTrader: (3)
   
Garage
put a nylon washer under said nut... get the washer from radio shack. worked like a charm on mine.
slimvulcanrider is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 08:02 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
JM2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 1,803
iTrader: (1)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by scuba View Post
I have searched older posts and havent found any information on how to tighten the tach. On the back of the tach the screw is in all the way and tight. But that thing wobbles like crazy. any easy fixes???
I put a piece of 1/2 inch clear plastic tubing about 3 inches long sliced down the middle and wedged it over the bracket and into the hole on the tack. No vibration whatsoever and you don't notice the tubing.

JM2001

" Loud Pipes Risk Rights "

2001 Vulcan 750
marbled
TOC upgrade on ACCT
Air/fuel mixture set to 2 1/2 out
rectifier relocated
splines lubed
iridiums
decals removed
upgraded mirrors
Pic up coil mod done
degoated
All LED lighting
Upgraded Mosfet rectifier
JM2001 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 08:28 AM
Old Fart
 
Knifemaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Catawissa, MO
Posts: 11,634
iTrader: (4)
     
Garage
The screw at the back only holds the cover on... It has nothing to do with how the tach is mounted to the bike.

However, you can take a thin piece of metal and build a "bridge" between the tach and the speedo....by using those bottom screws.

Just make it as wide as the distance between each opposite side of the gauges and mark the spot where each screw is located. Drill a hole for each.... Don't use too thick of a piece of metal or you'll have to find longer screws.

This will tie the two gauges together and help dampen out the shaking.
I think Diana may have a photo of how she made hers like this.

KM

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/
Knifemaker is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 10:29 AM
Old Twistie Sticks Rider
 
Old Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Country Created by Geniuses, But Run by Idiots...!!!
Posts: 5,072
iTrader: (2)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knifemaker View Post
The screw at the back only holds the cover on... It has nothing to do with how the tach is mounted to the bike.

However, you can take a thin piece of metal and build a "bridge" between the tach and the speedo....by using those bottom screws.

Just make it as wide as the distance between each opposite side of the gauges and mark the spot where each screw is located. Drill a hole for each.... Don't use too thick of a piece of metal or you'll have to find longer screws.

This will tie the two gauges together and help dampen out the shaking.
I think Diana may have a photo of how she made hers like this.

KM
I wrote a reply earlier but hit the wrong key and didn't post...lol...
Anyway, what KM said, but keep in mind that some of the shake it to protect the inards of the tach. from the strong vibes..
Have a good one...Old Dog...

Southern Central Tennessee.......
Now on the Dark Side......
Girl's Bike 09 Sporty xl 1200 Custom...33k + & clickin......
Sportster Owner/Rider since age 72...lol... Rider since Simplex...???
09-xl1200 "C" Vivid Black, Cast wheels w/19" Frt., SE-Stage 1+, X14iEDs...
MicroTach +, Higher wider H-bars, GPS Mt., Mustach bar Hwy. pegs...
Viking Shock cutout Saddlebags, Rear Mt. Signal Lt. Kit, Fork Brace...
RoadKing Air Shocks, Mustang Seat, Progressive Fork Springs...
Old Dog is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 01:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Madisonville. TX
Posts: 137
iTrader: (1)
 
heres what I did to both the speedo and tach when I replaced bulbs with LED's , took a 2in piece of 1/4 fuel line cut that in half "lengthwise" un bolted the bracket and placed both halfs on on top of and one below the bolts put bracket back on tighten down snug so you will be squishing the fuel line..... I did this to both sides and now both are SOLID even on the bumpy gravel county rode I live on
qweesy is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-18-2011, 02:48 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
scuba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: manitowoc wisconsin
Posts: 555
iTrader: (12)
 
well today I got gutsy. I am not very mechanical what so ever. So I take the tach/speed cluster off the bike by taking off the two bolts. I then took the screw off of the back of the tach (that holds the chrome back on). Took off two screws in the back of the cluster. Took one bolt off of the mounting piece for the tach, and slid the chrome piece down. Noticed the nuts were barely on. Looked at the speed mount side noticed there was washers on the back of the nuts. I simply put two washers on the tach side. And tightened the speed nuts on the speedometer side which were laso a little loose. Put it all together and tested the firmness by hitting as many bumps as i could. Nothing moved. The whole process took about ten minutes. No I didn't take pictures because I just wanted to get it done.

www.vulcanriders.us scuba
vn750.com scuba
vulcanforum.com scuba54220
vroc.org VROC # 32658 (scuba)
1984 kz750 ltd
1982 yamaha maxim 750
2002 nomad trike
1978 suzuki 250
1964 harley amf
1987 yamaha venture 1300
1984 honda silverwing
custom exhaust
custom mirrors
custom grips
custom floorboards
ride-on tire sealant
corbin seat and backrest
custom exhaust
willie & max saddle bags
scuba is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome