Cornering/turning technique question - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-14-2011, 04:45 PM Thread Starter
Git-R-Done!

Cornering/turning technique question

Ok, so I have a question about cornering on a motorcycle. Considering the fact that I have been riding for several years, I understand the fundamentals of leaning, accelerating through, etc. But recently, it seems I have found myself wondering something :

When you corner, and you lean, do you lean your whole body, like from the waist up? Or do you lean from the waist down, and keep you head/sightline basically parallel to the ground?

I guess the reason I am asking is because I did a no-no recently, and entered a turn on one of the freeways here in Phoenix a little fast, only to realize that it got tighter and tighter as it went around. It took me a bit by surprise. and I found myself leaning the bike from my waist down to hug the curve, but keeping the top portion of my body a little straighter. It worked for me, but got me thinking - is that the "right" way to do it?

What's your opinion/idea/experience? I'd love to hear it.

Thanks all, and safe riding

AZ Kev

Arizona Kev

1989 VN750
7800 orig mi when purchased Jan 2011
Turned 11,000 mi Nov 2011
Saddlebags
Taillight relocation kit
Chad's highway peg mounts
Emgo Pegs
Aftermarket mirrors
Dunlop D404's

Otherwise, all stock

"But it's a dry heat - like the inside of an oven"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 04-14-2011, 05:14 PM
Old Fart

Garage
You can hang your whole body off .... But keep your head straight at a right angle to the ground. If you have to lean more...countersteer more, keep you head straight and looking through the turn.

Generally let your body just follow the bike...but keep your eyes level.

KM

If You Are Not Sure If I Am Joking or Not....I AM !!Photos:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/knifemaker1954/sets/