Running cold, thermostat options - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-05-2011, 01:21 AM Thread Starter

Running cold, thermostat options

I went out today for a ride. Temps were around 60F. I got the bike warmed up driving out of town. Once I got into the country doing 55mph the bike started cooling down. By the time I got back the temps were running right at the very bottom of the normal range (touching the cold range) on the gauge. Once I started riding around town again it went back into the normal range. I'm guessing this is a sticky thermostat. Where is a good source for purchasing such an item?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-05-2011, 07:29 AM
Banned

I'm not sure that you have a problem here, the way you described the temp needle on the gauge sounds pretty normal. Regardless, is running "cold" really a problem? As long as both of your cylinders are firing right, I would think that running cold would improve engine performance. Now, if your fan is running constantly, I can see where that could be an issue.

Last edited by km60155; 02-05-2011 at 10:32 AM.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-05-2011, 08:50 AM
Old Twistie Sticks Rider

Location: Country Created by Geniuses, But Run by Idiots...!!!

I think if I did determine that I needed a new thermostat, I would just get one from the local Kaw. dealership rather than letting someone else decide which and whatever, after all its not gonna cost a fortune...
It does sound to me like it might be stuck open, as the air flow is having too much effect...
With my air cooled engine that would be how it is supposed to act, but I think with a radiator (best set up) I think you should be able to keep a more constant Temp. ...
Have a good one...Old Dog...

Southern Central Tennessee.......
Now on the Dark Side......
Girl's Bike 09 Sporty xl 1200 Custom...33k + & clickin......