Almost back to riding again!! - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 01-15-2011, 04:56 PM Thread Starter

Almost back to riding again!!

So i have been posting problems and updates on here since i joined about two months ago. I just wanted everyone to know that since i bought my 86 vulcan 2 months ago i have pulled the carbs and thoroughly cleaned them, lubed the rear splines and coupling, realigned the front wheel and forks with the handlebars, installed a new to me ignition switch, and spent to many hours to count out in the garage turning wrenches and spilling oil, fuel, sweat and blood. Today I decided to open up the garage door and start her up, and to make sure the clutch and transmission at least move the bike. I started her up, she fired on the third try. Rolled her to the end of the driveway, dropped her in first, slowly released the clutch, and away we went, only about 20 or 30 feet but it was amazing to be riding a bike that was laid down, left sitting outside, and bought by me for 250 bucks. So i did that about 3 or 4 times. Unfortunalty i cant run it any longer than that becuase i need a drain plug and fan switch that goes into the radiator, so it doesnt hold coolant as of yet. I also cant ride it on the road because the PO has the title, when he bought it he signed the back of the title but never got a new one preinted in his name. So i got a bill of sale from him, paid for the bike, took the bike home and he said he would get a new title for it and we would take care of it. Since then I have not heard from him, so i cant get it registered or put tags on it. I am definitly ready to ride it, and if I was back home I would even think about ridingit around the block, but because i live on a Marine Corps base, that is highly frowned apon and would end up with me in the brig or with a heavy ticket. I am going to go to base legal to see what my options are