1985 VN700 will turn over but will not idle (im a newbie please help) - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-16-2010, 09:19 PM Thread Starter

1985 VN700 will turn over but will not idle (im a newbie please help)

I have just bought a 1985 VN700. It didnt have any gas when I looked at it, so it turned over but it obviously didnt stay running. I brought it home and put gas in it and sure enough even with gas it will turn over and run for a split second, but with any gas given or even choked it will die. I assume it might be a carb problem. Please if you have any information on this issue or if you could just point me in the right direction that would be great. I want to learn my self I dont want to have to take it to a mechanic. Thanks for your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-16-2010, 10:05 PM
Linkmeister Supreme

Welcome to the Vulcan madness Matthew.

If the bike has been sitting for a long time and the fuel evaporated out of it in your Texas heat, the tank and carbs could be gummed up with varnish. Try pouring 6-8 ounces of Seafoam fuel conditioner or even some fuel injector cleaner into the tank of fresh fuel. Find the carb float bowl drain screws and drain the fuel out of them. Turn the petcock (fuel valve on the bottom left side of tank) to the Prime (PRI) position found only on the earliest 3 or 4 model years. This will allow fuel with the Seafoam to flow and fill the carbs too. Let it sit for a day or two, and try to start it once in a while.

If it still won`t run, check for fuel flow from the tank, and vacuum hose to middle nipple on petcock is not broken or cracked.

Here`s a link to the Vulcan Verses with info on flushing out the carbs through the drains.
https://www.vn750.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1080

You might find this link interesting too.
http://www.dansmc.com/MC_repaircourse.htm

Gordon