Summer plans - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-12-2010, 10:16 PM Thread Starter

Summer plans

Anyone have any particular plans for riding this summer?

I'm riding a Varadero now - have about 4400 km on it. August 7-21 I'm riding down to Ontario to visit my parents. I plan to ride east into Saskatchewan and then cut down through Weyburn into N. Dakota, Minnesota to Milwaukee, take the ferry across into Michigan and then cross back at Sarnia.

In October I'm taking 3 weeks off and riding down to SoCal where a friend has a house. My wife will fly down to meet me there, We'll spend a week there and return the same way we came.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 10:47 AM

I don't have any long trips planned but I'm in the middle of relocating. Do you mind if I ask what you do for a living that you can take 3 weeks off to go touring? That's relatively unheard of down here unless you quit and get another job when you get back. Most of us don't get 3 weeks vacation in a year and if we do, we prolly ain't takin' it all at once. Just curious...
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-13-2010, 02:02 PM Thread Starter

I've been self-employed one way or another since 1992. For the past 8 years I've been in a business with a partner so we can cover each other for longer periods than we could if we each were running it alone.

I have a high need for autonomy. As scary as it was to go on my own, it was the best decision I ever made. It took me 18 years to realize that if I wasn't really happy as an employee, I should try to change my circumstances rather than keep trying to change myself.

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-16-2010, 12:44 AM
Linkmeister Supreme