Trying seafoam for the first time - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-02-2010, 02:24 AM Thread Starter

Trying seafoam for the first time

Sorry to say not on the bike,yet. BTW I don't know if it's regional but seafoam was on sale for 6 something a can at advanced auto today in binghamton ny.

My gas mileage on my truck has decreased between 4-5 mpg and that's a lot for a 454!! (It's a pickup and I am a conservative driver so it's not my foot) I added two cans to a full tank, would anyone have added more? It's got a 32g tank, instructions say "treats 8 - 25g" so I am within that range. I have already got a bit of extra smoke at the tail pipe and I can smell it.

I will follow up with improvements or lack there of, but I hope it helps.

The bike is a hole different story... That has been sitting for upwards of year with stale gas in it, it's at 13,xxx miles so I want to get the spline lube done as well before venturing out. It starts PO started it and I could not help starting at least once to show my family. But it takes a bit of cranking to get it going with full choke, and it takes a couple of minutes to get the choke all the way off without it stalling out. I am going to change the stale gas and do the seafoam thing. But is there something else I will need to do to clear this up? I could just start doing this and that but all you guys are great and I love this site. Besides I remember someone saying "try not to just lurk around" in the newbies forum a couple of times.

Not to mention I still need to get my license and have never been on a bike.
Well except a yamaha yz250 that threw my arse on the ground with the flick of my wrist. That was the first time on a dirt bike and I touched the power band. The bike did a wheelie and I ended up with a bruised tail bone. I kept stalling it so I was giving it a little more but went too far... live and learn