Crash - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 10-22-2009, 10:20 AM Thread Starter
Rider on the Storm

Garage
Angry Crash

Well, I finally crashed. I've been riding motorcycles off and on since 1981. I've put 20,000 miles on my VN 750. And the worst I've ever done is tip over in the driveway or at the gas pump (more times that I would care to admit). But I finally crashed.

It's a long story and I don't feel like writing it down. (It happened on the interstate in stop-and-go traffic during rush hour, and it was entirely preventable.) I will say that I'm VERY lucky (which is what the ER doc said three times) to get off with 15 stitches in my right elbow (my Fox Creek leather jacket was only slightly scuffed, not torn at all!), a traffic ticket for "failure to control", no other vehicle involvement, not needing a tow (thanks to a little free roadside service), and relatively minimal damage to the bike ~ primarily to parts I was planning to replace anyway. (I could post pics later if anyone was really curious.)

My wife was very compassionate at first. Then she got angry and said all the things one might expect a wife to say. About 95% of it was beyond dispute, pointed comments about what would happen if I was killed or suffered a catastrophic injury while riding. (It didn't help that I had dropped the bike on my foot a month earlier, and that she is simultaneously dealing with aging parents who need 24/7 care in a nursing home. It also didn't help that, while being stitched up, I sadly noted that I was missing three days of great fall riding weather!) Fortunately, she is slowly calming down and starting to let it go...