2600 miles! - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-03-2009, 02:19 PM Thread Starter

2600 miles!

Hi! Newbie here. I just did a 2600 mile trip on my 93 Vulcan 750: Boston to Nova Scotia and back!

There were a couple of minor snags during the trip. Once after an extended ride in rain, the cylinders misfired but eventually the bike fired on all cylinders. I didn't do anything special. Just rode her at low speed for a couple of miles. The second issue was the speedometer cable coming undone near the wheel after a long ride on some rough roads between Canso and Sheet Harbour in NS. That was a simple enough fix.

The stock seat was a killer after about 90 miles or so. Other than that, the 17 year old Vulcan performed superbly in our trip!! Plenty of power available even at top speeds. And very solid too!

A little background:

I bought the bike used in 2003. Back then it felt heavy and awkward. The engine also often stalled at idle. Plus I couldn't always get it to start...kept flooding the engine. So after putting about a 100 miles, I put the bike in storage and didn't take it out until 2 months ago. This time the bike was much easier to handle since I have put on about 30 Lbs.

Trip preparation:

I took it to a mechanic referred to my buddy. The mechanic cleaned out the fuel tank, took care of the carbs and showed me the proper way to start the bike (the Clymer manual is awesome and shows you how to properly start the bike as well). I rode her for about 150 miles and still had the engine stalling and hot start issues. So the mechanic relocated the rectifier/regulator, as recommended in the awesome VN750 forums, and said that there was nothing else wrong with the bike. And he was right.