Bike just started ruuning like crap? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-15-2009, 08:54 PM Thread Starter

Bike just started ruuning like crap?

I have a 1991 , it has been running good since I got it out this, but last night on the way home it started to sputter and choke at low speed but cleared up somewhat at high speed. It also started to backfire real bad when slowing down. I just put new plugs in it two days ago and cleaned the air filter last week. I also use seafoam about every 4 tanks and have for 2 years. This morning I pulled the plugs and the back ones looked fine but the front one were real wet. I put the wires on the plugs (out of the engine) and fired it to see if there was spark and there was on all four. I am not a bike mechanic by any means. But could anyone help me out on what to do or look for next? I'll be greatfull for any help.
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-15-2009, 09:04 PM
The Professor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark A. Gurnsey View Post
I have a 1991 , it has been running good since I got it out this, but last night on the way home it started to sputter and choke at low speed but cleared up somewhat at high speed. It also started to backfire real bad when slowing down. I just put new plugs in it two days ago and cleaned the air filter last week. I also use seafoam about every 4 tanks and have for 2 years. This morning I pulled the plugs and the back ones looked fine but the front one were real wet. I put the wires on the plugs (out of the engine) and fired it to see if there was spark and there was on all four. I am not a bike mechanic by any means. But could anyone help me out on what to do or look for next? I'll be greatfull for any help.
Thanks!
Sounds like you are getting some debris in the carbs and or the float valve is sticking and flooding out the front cylinder at low speed.