Teaching youth Rider to ride??? - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 05:09 AM Thread Starter

Teaching youth Rider to ride???

I have owned my vulcan 750 almost 2 years now, my daughter who is 8 yrs old has been my passanger, shes enjoys riding and is frustrated when I ride solo

I have been riding for 3 years now, and I had no riding experience growing up.

My question is when do you teach a youth to ride and what type of bike would you suugest a youth rider to learn to ride on?

Thanks everyone and have a safe Holiday.

Last edited by John Brisson; 05-23-2009 at 05:10 AM. Reason: error
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 05:45 AM
Vintage bike addict

It's very responsible of you to ask. A little bit early in my opinion. I started out with small cc dirt bikes about twelve years old. Wildfire motors has some that could be appropriate. Keep in mind the legislators are looking at the child endangerment aspect of allowing youngsters to ride as passengers. Check the law in your state. Teach her to be safe and always wear her gear.

No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.
Eleanor Roosevelt.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 07:28 AM
Ba dum dum, ching...

She might be ready now. She certainly has the desire and there are some bikes out there that are designed for youth riders. A couple of things you need to ask yourself though:
  1. How well does she ride a bicycle?
  2. How athletic is she?
  3. Do you think she's going to give up the first time she falls down?