Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

Mysterious rev climbing

1K views 7 replies 4 participants last post by  Spockster 
#1 ·
Hey guys, please help me solve this mystery...

So less than 2 weeks ago the bike was running fine. I was commuting on the interstate, everything was shifting smooth, sometimes it would jerk upon take off but I'm also new to motorcycling so I thought maybe that was me, maybe I need to practice smoother on the clutch. I had already taken the carbs apart twice, first to clean them from the previous owner, then the second time because an o-ring got pinched and was having vacuum problems. I bench synched them the last time I put them in, but I had to be Mr Perfect and borrow my friends carb sync tool... and that's where the trouble started.

It's one of the tools with the gauges and hoses, not a cheap blue fluid kind. I plugged it into the vacuum ports on the carb and turned it on. They weren't perfectly in sync, so i figured I wanted to adjust, but I didn't have a wrench that could reach. It ran for a couple minutes with the carb sync tool attached while i tried to reach, but couldn't. There's a motorcycle collective/shop a mile away, so I figured why not ask to borrow a wrench. I plug back in the hoses appropriately and take off.

Immediately the throttle feels weird/jerky/different. I make it half a mile and pull over, take a look at it. Maybe I bumped the screw trying to reach it and made a more out of sync? Well I was only a half mile from the shop so I hop back on and continue. As I pull into the shop, my engine revs through the roof. Goes up to about 6k, so I pull in the clutch and shift into neutral as I park, it stays at 6k and didn't shift into neutral easily, but after 5 or 10 seconds I get it into neutral and cut the engine. White smoke comes out of the right-hand exhaust (attached to front cylinder).