Vulcan didn't start. - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-02-2018, 01:31 PM Thread Starter

Vulcan didn't start.

Did my intro post this past weekend, and am the proud owner of a 2005 VN750! Got it on Monday, rode it for the first time on Tuesday. Feel in love with it right away. I was surprised at how nimble and maneuverable it was at low speeds while I was doing my best to recreate the MSF excersizes.

Well, yesterday it rained all day, so the bike sat for a whopping 48 hours.

Went to start it today and... nothing. "Ok, I'm a newbie, what am I doing wrong?" I thought to myself as I went through the FINE-C checklist at least 3 times. The bike did nothing.

I figure it's a dead battery that hasn't been changed since 2005, as there was no noise at all when the ignition button was pressed. The light for neutral also would not illuminate with the key turned, nor the headlight or turn signals.

Any suggestions for getting my bike started?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-02-2018, 02:06 PM
Members who have donated towards server costs

Thirteen years is a long time for that battery.

Put a new AGM battery on it and go from there to the next problem... if there is one.

"I need yo clothes, yo boots and yo motocycle."- Uncle Bob
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-02-2018, 02:07 PM

I would start with a new battery. Even if that isn't the problem the battery is 13 years old and probably closer to the grave than not. Won't hurt to change it and its a good place to start.

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-02-2018, 04:52 PM

Garage