Breaker Bar Length - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
VN750 General Discussion

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2009, 09:06 AM Thread Starter
At Least I Can Spell!
 
msh1156's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 615
iTrader: (1)
 
Breaker Bar Length

I'm headed to Harbor Freight (way cheaper than Lowes/Sears/Home Depot) to pick up my breaker bar for removing the axle bolt and getting the splines handled. They've got 25" and 18.75" - 13 and 10 bucks respectively. I already have an 18" length of 3/4 pipe. So... do I spend 10 or 13 bucks?

Michael
2002 Nomad 1500
VROC #29972

----------------------
msh1156 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2009, 09:18 AM
CWO3 Navy (Retired)
 
cliffhusn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 722
iTrader: (7)
 
All I've ever used when I need leverage is a standard ratchet handle with a piece of pipe slipped over the handle. Been using this setup for years on my cars and now on the bike and it works great and saves me money.

The Flag on my bike honors those who serve our Country and those who have served!
cliffhusn is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2009, 09:22 AM
Old Twistie Sticks Rider
 
Old Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Country Created by Geniuses, But Run by Idiots...!!!
Posts: 5,072
iTrader: (2)
 
Well if I already had equal to an 18" I would go ahead and get the 25" at $13, don't seem to be a problem, the extra 3/4" ain't a gonna help much...Get the 25" you may need it somewhere else as well... You do have a torque wrench don't you???
PS-cliffhusn, I used the pipe bit also but it has cost me a ratchet or 3 and also a $100+ vice, I now try to be very careful about the cheater bar usage, I did though have one of the 1/2" drive ratchets that broke welded up solid to use with a cheater bar...
Have a good one...Old Dog...

Southern Central Tennessee.......
Now on the Dark Side......
Girl's Bike 09 Sporty xl 1200 Custom...33k + & clickin......
Sportster Owner/Rider since age 72...lol... Rider since Simplex...???
09-xl1200 "C" Vivid Black, Cast wheels w/19" Frt., SE-Stage 1+, X14iEDs...
MicroTach +, Higher wider H-bars, GPS Mt., Mustach bar Hwy. pegs...
Viking Shock cutout Saddlebags, Rear Mt. Signal Lt. Kit, Fork Brace...
RoadKing Air Shocks, Mustang Seat, Progressive Fork Springs...

Last edited by Old Dog; 03-08-2009 at 09:28 AM.
Old Dog is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2009, 09:22 AM Thread Starter
At Least I Can Spell!
 
msh1156's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 615
iTrader: (1)
 
cliff - I need a breaker since I don't have a 1/2" ratchet! The 27mm socket I bought at Lowes requires it.

old dog - I do have a 1/2" torque wrench on the way from HF. Back ordered.

Michael
2002 Nomad 1500
VROC #29972

----------------------

Last edited by msh1156; 03-08-2009 at 09:28 AM.
msh1156 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2009, 09:32 AM
CWO3 Navy (Retired)
 
cliffhusn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 722
iTrader: (7)
 
I heart ya, that"s why I buy Craftsman, when it breaks I take it back and get a new one (or like new since they changed their guarantee). I do have a 18" 1/2 breaker bar handle that I use for the big jobs with a piece of pipe also. Sometimes you just need the extra muscle that the ratchet won't give you.

The Flag on my bike honors those who serve our Country and those who have served!
cliffhusn is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2009, 09:36 AM
Members who have donated towards server costs
 
sunpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Northern Connecticut
Posts: 117
iTrader: (0)
 
The 18", 1/2" drive breaker bar worked just fine for me on the axle nut. I agree with old dog's advice. You've got to be careful when using cheater bars. Be prepared to accept that you may break a tool. (Done that.)

- Safety First

Paul

'04 VN750
'75 CB360T
'08 Concours 14
sunpa is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2009, 11:05 AM
Intelligent Redneck
 
kennyw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: -WA-
Posts: 270
iTrader: (10)
 
Using the pipe cheater is likely to break your tools if you really need the leverage it is providing. The breaker bar is well worth the $10-13.
kennyw is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2009, 03:06 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 96
iTrader: (0)
 
I've heard of many ratchets being stripped out by using a length of pipe on the handle. if i had to use a length of pipe i would use it on a breaker bar that at least doesn't have a ratcheting mechanism to break.

be careful with Craftsman torque wrenches and cheater bars though, their guarantee doesn't cover torque wrenches as I found out then the crappy plastic locking ring on mine broke.
drguitarum2005 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2009, 04:57 PM Thread Starter
At Least I Can Spell!
 
msh1156's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Monroe, NC
Posts: 615
iTrader: (1)
 
I went to Harbor Freight... bought the 25 incher for 12 bucks. Returned the 18" of pipe to Lowes. Also got cir-clip pliers and some nice metric sockets. Gave me a great excuse to ride on another beautiful 77 degree day - yes. Once my torque wrench arrives I'll be tackling the splines.

Michael
2002 Nomad 1500
VROC #29972

----------------------
msh1156 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-08-2009, 07:28 PM
Linkmeister Supreme
 
OlHossCanada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 7,960
iTrader: (8)
   
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffhusn View Post
I heart ya, that"s why also. Sometimes you just need the extra muscle that the ratchet won't give you. I buy Craftsman, when it breaks I take it back and get a new one (or like new since they changed their guarantee). I do have a 18" 1/2 breaker bar handle that I use for the big jobs with a piece of pipe u.
The one time I broke a Craftsman ratchet, they just gave me a new set of gears to install in the handle. Works good, just like new.

Just a heads up when using a cheater bar, or a snipe, as it is often called around here. Make sure the pipe is slid all the way up to the head, before applying pressure. I once bent the handle on a cheap 3/8 drive rachet by trying to get more length with a too short pipe, and only slipping it half way down the handle.

Gordon

1991 VN 750 -"Cosmic Lady" or "Bad Girl"?
Purchased May 16, 2008
Approx.19,300km (12,000 miles)

H-D windshield
Relocated R/R
MF-AGM battery
Fiamm Freeway Blaster horns
F&S luggage rack and engine guard
Kury Offset Hiway pegs
July 13, 2016, Riding on the DARKSIDE now, Classic Radial 165/80-15


TOP TEN THINGS A NEW RIDER/OWNER SHOULD DO. Click on link.
https://www.vn750.com/forum/11-vn750-general-discussion/9127-top-ten-items-you-would-suggest-new-owner-do-his-new-ride.html
OlHossCanada is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

Once registered, your User Name"cannot be changed". We can make exceptions within 7 days, but after that, it is set in stone.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome