Kawasaki VN750 Forum banner

2003 Vulcan 750 Stator replacement

6K views 18 replies 5 participants last post by  Spockster 
#1 ·
I am relatively new to the world of motorcycles but have a lot of experience working on cars. The stator went bad on my bike so I bought a new one to replace it. While taking of the cover on the left side, I learned that I could not get to a couple of the bolts as they are covered up by the frame. Is it possible to replace the stator without removing the entire engine? Is there a way to lift the engine a few inches without removing it completely? Thanks!

#2 ·
*No, and yes.

Engine has to be pulled off or tilted to change the stator. Browse this site for info, read the Vulcan Verses too. I have pics and tips for the engine tilt if you need them, that's how I did my '03.

*There's also a side case mod than allows stator r&r without pulling the engine, but it can be tricky. Look for 'stator mod plate' or 'Tux mod' or 'Tuxedo mod' here on the site.

#3 · (Edited)
Did you test your rectifier too?a bad rectifier can also cause it to not charge.I noticed this is your first post. How about ya hop on over to the newbie section and tell us a little about yourself

#8 ·