: Spamming from user CocoChanels
Burke 07-25-2009, 01:02 PM Anyone else getting spam private messages from a new user with the name of CocoChanels?
I received an unsolicited private message from this user yesterday peddling search engine optimization services. Here is a paste of the message.
"I see you want to promote your website. More effective, for less price...
It's easy <software title deleted> is a software complex, which can post to more than 1.000.000 forums, blogs, guestbooks, BBS's, boards, etc.
It's price was grow up to $540, and continues growing.
Just use Google for purchase <software title deleted>.
P.S. Do not use <software title deleted> it is too old and buggy versions. "
Just thought I would bring this to the MODs attention. It certainly isn't a targeted spam message because I don't have a website and not sure (other than just spam) why the user thinks I do.
Thanks!
Dianna 07-26-2009, 01:17 PM Several have.. and they should stop now since CocoChanels has been banned.
I have one other on my radar as a possible spammer but they haven't made their move yet.
hyperbuzzin 07-26-2009, 02:12 PM We've had a few members lately with screen names being a bunch of numbers of 6,7,8 or more digits. They seem pretty suspicious as well.
OlHossCanada 07-26-2009, 02:22 PM Just a heads-up to new members of the "Report a Post" icon in the upper righthand corner of every post with a red triangle (around an exclamation point, I think). Just click on it and post your complaint. Dianna or one of the moderators will take care of it.
Thanks again Dianna for the work you do for the forum.
Burke 07-26-2009, 02:55 PM Just a heads-up to new members of the "Report a Post" icon in the upper righthand corner of every post with a red triangle (around an exclamation point, I think). Just click on it and post your complaint. Dianna or one of the moderators will take care of it.
Thanks but I don't see that the red triangle with an exclamation mark is an option when the spam is a private message.
hyperbuzzin 07-26-2009, 07:14 PM Ya could always forward it to DMAG or Dianna.
Dianna 07-27-2009, 12:26 PM Matter of fact when I got the private reports of the "Private message spammer" I also got one from the dork!
And yes Hyper, the ones with "numeric" user ids are on my radar. I was tempted to ban them before they posted but as it is, it's innocent until they prove themselves guilty.
VulcanVoyager 03-10-2010, 06:18 AM I just received a PM from JamesWilliams saying he thought I was spamming. (His signature said "Administrator.") Message also requested a read receipt. He wanted me to go to a link that would purportedly remove any malware my computer has. I looked the member up and--surprise surprise--he just joined the forum on March 9, 2010....and has ZERO posts.
So it looks like a phishing expedition to me. I've been inactive on the forum for quite a while so getting the message made me suspicious.
Be careful out there, guys (and ladies)!!
No longer a VN750 owner, but I still have great memories of the bike, and I see my friend riding it all the time......
VV
Crobins365 03-10-2010, 07:55 AM I got the same, text as follows:
Take measures immediately!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear, joker;GrayFox;razorphreak;Crobins365;eumele!
Spam sending from your computer was detected.
We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://remove-malware.servebbs.org/o...bins365;eumele
If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP with attached log file (your IP address, etc.).
----------------------------------------------------
Forum Administration www.vn750.com
Dianna, I'll forward the original to you.
VulcanVoyager 03-10-2010, 08:06 AM Almost exactly the message I received, but with a different list of addressees.
I've never seen this occur before and I've been on probably a dozen forums dealing with different topics. Bummer that these idiots (or idiot) have targeted this forum!
--Roy
GrayFox 03-10-2010, 09:07 AM As is probably obvious I got the same message.
thom1 03-10-2010, 09:49 AM As is probably obvious I got the same message.
I got it this morning too
Too bad there isn't an easy "report this" button for PM
since a lot of spam seems to come from that way now.
Dianna 03-10-2010, 09:56 AM Bad BAD idea to send spam (with a virus even) to a Moderator.
PM Spammer has been banned and all of the private messages it sent out deleted.
Gemguy 03-10-2010, 09:59 AM I too got an infection warning from someone. Have a good virus protection so i clicked on the link to clean up the malware and what do you know, my V protection came up with a window warning me that the link was a virus infection. I deleted the PM :(
waynebo37 03-10-2010, 12:10 PM I, too, got this one. Wasn't sure if it was legit until I checked here. I have since deleted the PM.
cm4cm5 03-10-2010, 06:00 PM i got it also...but Diane took care of it already...thank you
|