Broken Bolt Mount - Leaking Oil - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Engine / Exhaust / Cooling
\ From the radiator, through the case and out
the exhaust. If it has to do with the cooling,
engine or exhaust, discuss it here!

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-09-2016, 07:22 PM Thread Starter

Broken Bolt Mount - Leaking Oil

Have had my 750 for about 4 months now. Just started to notice some oil on the garage floor. I am not a mechanical guy, so please forgive incorrect lingo and ignorance. Got under the bike and noticed one of the bolts that hold the two engine halves together has a broken mount. There is a bit of oil on the bolt, so it seems like it's not holding everything together tight enough. Any thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MiniBolt.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	51.1 KB
ID:	32826  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-10-2016, 09:49 AM

It would appear you are correct. Part of your case is broken. Maybe hit something on the road? The only fixes I can think of require the engine to be removed from the frame at least. The bolt boss could be welded up, machined flat and drilled/tapped for the bolt. If you are only losing a few drops I would just put a piece of cardboard under it for now. Someday you may have to pull the engine and can deal with it then. Maybe even just get a used side case for cheaper than paying a machine shop. I wouldn't try it at home. Sorry, maybe someone else will have another idea.

If you check Roach's rebuild video, Pt. 6 when he splits the case, at about 3.07 minutes, you can see what it should be.

No Brain - No Pain. I measure a man by the good he does for others, not his mistakes. One more for forgiving Wolfie.
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 07-10-2016, 03:15 PM
2000 VN 750 Senior Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teknofiliak View Post