How to Truly Fix the Vulcan's Electrical Problems - Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Forum : Kawasaki VN750 Forums
Electrical
Where does this wire go?
Includes Electrical mods, Lights, Stator,
Rectifier, Diagrams, etc

6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-13-2017, 12:48 AM Thread Starter

Garage
How to Truly Fix the Vulcan's Electrical Problems

Let me preface by saying that this fix assumes you have a MOSFET R/R like the Compufire I installed on mine. You may need to modify some steps to keep the stock R/R wiring.

During the restoration of my '93 VN750, I unfortunately did not take the time to clean or modify the wiring harness to increase the reliability. I have been chasing electrical problems for about two months. My only modification as of a couple days ago was to get rid of the stock R/R and go to a MOSFET unit. Not long after I started having issues with the bike dying from losing power feed from the ignition switch, turned out to be full of dirt. My headlight also did not work, or the radiator fan. Next my starter solenoid died, then I lost power to the rear cylinder coil. Truly frustrating. The last straw was when I moved the main harness from under the tank to on top of the rear valve cover to make for a cleaner look, which interfered with removing the battery. So, after much research I decided to modify the entire harness from the petcock area to the back of the bike.

Figure 1

Pin 1: White/Red wire coming from starter solenoid. Main power feed.
Pin 2: White wire fed thru 30 amp fuse. Feeds ignition switch and the fan.
Pin 3A: Lead for 1st accessory.
Pin 3B: Lead for 2nd accessory.
Pin 4: Black/Yellow wire to fan switch, grounds the fan relay.
Pin 5: Blue wire, switched side of the fan relay, powers the fan.
Pin 6: Brown/white wire fed from the ignition switch. Has power in the "ON" position.
Pin 7: Normally left blank, used in bypassing the headlight relay. This is where the blue wire is moved to. Fed through 10 amp fuse.